Engineers Canada Awards

What are the Engineers Canada Awards?

Our annual awards honour outstanding Canadian engineers, teams of engineers, engineering projects, achievements and engineering students.

How do I identify a past winner?

You can search the database by recipient name, award name, or year received. Engineers Canada reserves the right to cancel, withdraw or amend any award, scholarship and/or fellowship without prior notice.

Why apply for an Engineers Canada Award?

These awards provide national recognition from your peers for your achievements. You can nominate yourself or one of your peers can nominate you.

When are nominations accepted?

Nominations for the awards are open from October to January each year. The deadline for nominations for the Engineers Canada Awards is January 17, 2014.

What types of awards are available through Engineers Canada?

Awards are presented in nine categories:

  1. Gold Medal Award This award is presented to an exceptional professional engineer for achievement and distinction in engineering.
  2. Young Engineer Achievement Award This award is presented to a professional engineer under 35 for outstanding contribution in engineering.
  3. Meritorious Service Award for Professional Service This award is presented to a professional engineer for outstanding contribution to a professional, consulting or technical engineering association or society in Canada.
  4. Meritorious Service Award for Community Service This award is presented to a professional engineer for exemplary voluntary contribution to a community organization or humanitarian initiative.
  5. Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education This award is presented to a professional engineer for exemplary contribution to engineering teaching at a Canadian university.
  6. National Award for an Engineering Project or Achievement This award is presented for an outstanding engineering project or achievement by an engineering team involving Canadian engineers.
  7. Award for the Support of Women in the Engineering Profession This award is presented to a professional engineer for outstanding support of women in the engineering profession and for engineering excellence.
  8. Gold Medal Student Award This award is presented to an undergraduate engineering student for outstanding leadership, contributions to society and volunteerism.
  9. The Award of Journalism Excellence in Engineering This award is presented to a journalist who through words or images, offers a balanced perspective on how engineering impacts important societal issues.

Can I apply for an award or must I be nominated?

You or an organization can put your name forward for any of the awards.

Do I need to be a Canadian citizen or a permanent citizen of Canada to apply?


Do I need to be a professional engineer to be considered?

In all of the categories except for the Gold Medal Student Award and the Award of Journalism Excellence in Engineering, you must be a professional engineer licensed with one of Canada’s engineering regulatory bodies.

For the Gold Medal Student Award, you must be enrolled in good standing in an engineering program that is accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board. You must also be registered as a student member of the engineering regulatory body where that category exists.

Check with your provincial or territorial engineering regulatory body to discover if your association has a student member category.

The nomination form says the nomination must have the support of the profession. What does that mean?

That means you are a member of an engineering regulatory body.

What are the selection criteria?

Award recipients are selected by the Engineers Canada Awards Committee based on the terms of reference and selection criteria.

For more information

If you would like to learn more about Engineers Canada’s awards, scholarships, or Fellowship opportunities, call Lucy Lefebvre, Assistant, Outreach, at 613-232-2474 ext. 237. You can also send Lucy an email.